Spatial Memory Deficits in Aging Rats

I will be working at the University of Arizona’s Evelyn F. McKnight Brain Institute. Under the mentorship of neuroscientist Dr. Carol Barnes, I will be researching the cognitive effects and spatial memory deficits in normal aging rats. I will be using young and old live rats in carefully-designed experiments, such as mazes and mind tests to explore the changes that occur as rodents age. My research with rodents will serve as a model for memory decline in the aged. At the culmination of my research internship, I plan on writing a lab report. 

Leave a Reply

