Engineering – More Than Nuts and Bolts

I will be holding an internship position at Stabiltec Downhole Tools, an engineering firm based in Houston Texas. Throughout my two month stay, I will get to see what an engineer does everyday, investigating every stage of the manufacturing process, from design to sales.

Stabiltec designs and manufactures and sells large heavy duty drill bits, as well as other petroleum mining components. During my time there, I will learn what it really takes to be an engineer in the real world, and what it means to provide a good/service as a firm. I will have the opportunity to learn more about engineering management, business, and even industry dynamics, all while studying each stage of the manufacturing process. To put it bluntly, I will learn what it means to be an engineer and businessman in two months.

While this does sound over the top, my goal is to provide insight to those who are seeking a future in either engineering or entrepreneurship, and to prepare myself for my future in engineering as well.

Leave a Reply

