Week 1

Today was the first day of my internship. I went to my Professor’s office in the Psychology building at the University of Arizona. When I arrived at her office, we sat down and started discussing an article I had to read beforehand. It is about how repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation (rTMS) is much more effective in reducing motor symptoms in patients with Parkinson’s Disease than other sham controlled brain stimulations. I learned that higher frequencies of rTMS at the primary motor cortex and lower frequencies of rTMS at other frontal regions is more effective and significant than if lower frequencies of rTMS were targeted at the primary motor cortex and higher frequencies of rTMS were targeted at other frontal regions of the brain.

After discussing the article for a while, Professor Chou explained how she is going to give me new articles every week about rTMS and how she wants me to learn how to organize the data in those articles in a file.

Then, we went down to the lab I will be working at very soon. It is still under construction because furniture needs to be moved in; however, we went down and checked out the space.

After that, we went back up to the office and discussed more about the plan for the next couple of months.

One thought on “Week 1

Leave a Reply

