Day 0: Pre-Internship Progress

This week was somewhat disjointed since my internship hasn’t officially started yet, but in the meantime I’ve been working on my music in my makeshift home studio day and night. My onsite advisor contacted me on Wednesday, and we had a brief discussion about what my background in music was and what he had planned for the internship overall, and  then he talked about himself a bit too.

He told me that over the years he had done everything from music production and engineering for local artists to sound tech and monitoring for groups like TSO and the Arizona Theatre Company, and how he had developed his career from multiple aspects of the music business. As someone interested in taking a similar approach to production, I went back to some of my old projects to look at the steps involved in creating a single song: writing, instrumentation, mixing, recording, editing, etc., and started thinking about how each step could be explored on a deeper level.

While before I’ve had an idea of what can make music sound good, I’ve become more and more interested in learning what makes songs sound better. Even though I’m still not exactly sure what I’ll be doing specifically during this internship, from the way he was talking I’m pretty sure this guy could have some secrets or ancient Jedi wisdom that will help me make some top quality stuff, but we’ll see…

img_6911

(Home Studio)

I currently use:

  1. Behringer Sound Interface: $30
  2. Shure SM81 Condenser Mic: $300 (borrowed from a friend)
  3. Bose MM-1 Speakers (borrowed from male guardian)
  4. Dell Laptop (borrowed from female guardian)
  5. AudioTechnica ATH-M40x Headphones: $80
  6. FL Studio Producer Edition
  7. Couch Cushions (professional sound-insulation equipment)
  8. Apple Earbuds (break every 3 months)
  9. Brain
One thought on “Day 0: Pre-Internship Progress

Leave a Reply

