Week 1: Shadowing a Pediatrician

The first week of my internship was off to an amazing start! Starting next Monday, I will begin my training and orientation in the Emergency Room at Banner University Medical Center, but this week I began my shadowing position at Dyson Pediatrics.

On Tuesday morning, I arrived at the new pediatrics office for Dr. Dyson. I was overwhelmed my the modern and very brightly colored patient rooms and decor. Each exam room is painted a different neon color and are each filled with decor of different scenes. The bright yellow room, for example, is full of Star Wars memorabilia, and the bright purple room is full of sports cleats, banners, awards.

At 8 AM on February 7th, I met with my advisor, Dr. Dyson, and began reading through the 20 patient charts that we were going to be seeing that day. Observing the patient’s age, health issues, and previous exams, I was beginning to learn about each patient and prepare for the exam.

At 8:30 AM, the first patient arrived. An 11 month old baby boy with a fever who had been sick and in the hospital for a few days. I walked into every room behind Dr. Dyson and was introduced to the patient and the patient’s family. I stood and observed the questions the doctor was asking and the specific symptoms of each patient. This process continued for four hours, and I quickly realized that RSV, Respiratory Syncytial Virus, is very common among children this time of year. Almost every patient had a viral swab and a strep test. I also learned that when children have a fever, cough, and sore throat and their fever goes away and then comes back, it is likely that they have pneumonia.

On Thursday, February 9th, I returned to the office to watch over another 15 exams. This day was a little bit more interesting! I watched Dr. Dyson perform a circumcision on a little baby boy. I was apprehensive to watch, but I decided to anyways. The little boy was comforted with a pacifier covered in sugar-water. I was also brought into about 10 patient rooms with adorable newborn babies. I was educated on breast feeding, and I learned that newborn babies are supposed to gain 1 ounce a day!

I have loved getting to shadow this week, and I can’t wait to start working in the Emergency Room next week! I’ll let you know how it goes, wish me luck!!

One thought on “Week 1: Shadowing a Pediatrician

Leave a Reply

