Day 6: Perseverance

Today was another day of straight mixing. We worked on three songs for six hours, two hours per song. My third day of mixing, however, was not as bad as it has been before. In fact, I am starting to get the hang of the process more so now. The best way to learn something, is to repeat the process over and over until your mind is numb. If this week has taught me anything beyond mixing, it is that sentiment.

The third time is always the charm, and on my third day of mixing, I became more involved in the process. Instead of having to resort to a couple of books as distractions because I didn’t understand what was going on quite yet, I was able to engage and recognize what needed to be done to a song in order for it to sound better.

While I am getting used to the process, that does not mean that it is any less tedious, and I wasn’t the only one feeling that way. Jim and I nearly fell asleep while listening to a song the millionth time over, and so we took a break and just stepped outside to get some fresh air. After that, we were back to work, and got even more progress than I anticipated.

The week is over for me, and recording sessions are lining up. Sometime by the end of the next week, I shall finally work on recording live. I just have to persevere until then.

Leave a Reply

