Day 13

Hello all! I spent day 13 working in Janet’s studio. Janet is an improvisational piecer, which means that she does not use a pattern when she goes to sew a quilt, and pieces, or straight stitches,fabric together to create a quilt. In the morning I worked on breaking down my design into segments that I can piece. I then colored the different segments to give myself an idea of the values and colors that I want to use in each section.

My colored template

Next, I chose the fabrics that I wanted to use for the block, cut templates from my design, and began to prepare the fabric to be cut to size. I cut chunks of the fabrics that I am going to use down to the approximate size that I will need. On Wednesday I will iron and starch them. After they are ironed I will cut them to size and sew the block together. 

Leave a Reply

