Week Four: A lot more instruments to learn, so little time.

My apologies for the late post, last week was crazy busy. Here at the lab, I have begun to grow accustom to the equipment I will be working with and have even been able to do work on my own! My supervisor has told me that I am making great progress in the goal to have me be able to work on my own without having him over my shoulder making sure I do things right. But that is still a work in progress, and I am very excited to be able to work on my own and contribute as much as I can to their research. Now, on to what I have  accomplished so far. First, a note: surface chemistry is very sensitive to contamination, and cleaning and drying all of our instruments and vials is pertinent to our data. A lot of what I have been working on is how to operate and clean these instruments after use, like the one pictured below, which is called a tensiometer.

Tensiometer

This instrument has been one of my most instruments, so I know my way around this expensive and fragile device that is used to measure the surface tension of our sample.Frozen mRL using liquid nitrogen

Here, we have flash frozen our sample because we had detected acetic acid in our glycolipid, which we had detected through a process known as NMR, and using this big machine that requires special training to operate.NMR Magnet

There will be more this week, as we are in the process of analyzing our data and comparing our trials. Thank you for reading!!

Leave a Reply

