Week 5

This week, I was joined by Mark and Professor Chou to record data into an excel file. I was not familiar with recording data into the sheet so I took it slowly and learned on the way. I read two articles that week; however, filled in the data for only one article called The Impact of Left Prefrontal Repetitive Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation on Depression in Parkinson’s Disease: a Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study by Pal et al. The experiment of this article tested how the rTMS can affect depression in patients with Parkinson’s Disease. There were significant improvements in applied depression scales and other tests, although it was hard to tell whether rTMS could improve parkinsonian symptoms as much because of the overlapping symptoms seen in both depression and Parkinson’s Disease.

With this article, I helped fill in data about the experiment and the patients involved in a data sheet with Mark and the professor. Filling in this data with help was very important to me because I do not have much experience working with data sheets and organizing important information and so this was a new experience and I took away a lot from it. In the future, I will be working on filling in more data now by myself and starting literature searches for more articles about rTMS and Parkinson’s Disease.

Leave a Reply

