Day 20 

Through the end of this week, I will be working in the studio of Sharon Nemirov, who is a member of FASA. 

Today I worked on creating a block for my quilt using a raw edge appliqué. This means that the cut edges of the pieces are not covered like in a traditional appliqué piece. For this technique I used a fusible stabilizer, which is a stiff fabric that has glue on one side. I ironed this onto the fabric I decided to use, and then cut the shapes that I needed. 

Next I will need to pin the pieces into place and then I will stitch them down with a thick satin stitch. This is the layout that I have so far: 

2 thoughts on “Day 20 

  1. I like the layout! I also really appreciate the photos you are including. They give me a good sense of all the materials and equipment (and animals) you are learning to work with.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

