Archives Research and Exposed Symposium

Archives Research and Exposed Symposium

This week I continued my research using the Louise Dahl-Wolfe archive, started my journey with the Voices of Photography project, and attended Exposed: Technical Art History Symposium. 

On Tuesday morning, I meet with Harold and he gave me an overview of the Voices of Photography history and ongoing project. During this last month, it’s my goal to complete at least one annotation that will be added to the VOP binder in the Laura Volkerding Study Center. I’m really excited to be working on this project and will start next week once I choose a video.

IMG_0454.JPG

Louise Dahl-Wolfe had a prominent career in fashion photography as a staff photographer at Harper’s Bazaar during the 1930-50s. For my research, I ended up tracking her development of fashion poses and how this portrayed the idea of the “active, modern woman” that was growing to prominence during that time. Like many of her contemporaries, Dahl-Wolfe had her models pose in a very angular fashion. For example, the model’s arms are always in some way bent. Most of the articles I read argued that Dahl-Wolfe’s style was actual very laid back compared to her contemporaries. I can see this argument in the fact that she seemed to favor the outdoors rather than the studio and also in the content being mostly travel/activewear. I wish I could post some of the fascinating things in the Louise Dahl-Wolfe archive but copyright so I’ll share a photo of the 7 boxes I went through during this project instead 🙂

A random note: I know enough Spanish to be able to read an article in Americana about Louise Dahl-Wolfe. Yay!

IMG_0465.JPG

Today, I attended Exposed: Technical Art History Symposium which hosted talks by 12 different professionals all working in some way towards furthering our understanding of art history, techniques, and materials. This symposium goes hand in hand with a current exhibit entitled Exposed: The Art and Science of Conservation at UAMA (http://artmuseum.arizona.edu/events/event/exposed-art-science-conservation). It was a really fascinating series of talks. I found “Hidden Hazards in Museum Collections” presented by Nancy Odegaard really interesting because it was an overview of toxic materials that are potentially present in the collections and the importance of identifying them.

Leave a Reply

