Library Anxiety and Student Outreach

Library Anxiety and Student Outreach

This week I continued my work on the VOP project and finally have a good draft of an annotation. Hurray! The biggest challenge of this project is figuring out the names of artists. Thankfully google existed and I was able to make educated guesses at spelling to which google was like “no, this is the person you’re looking for” and that worked for most of them. Now I just have to have Emily, my advisor, review it and it’ll be complete.

IMG_0522.JPG

I also had some interesting readings this week about library anxiety among students. I thought it was most interesting that many university students, especially freshmen, are hesitant to ask for help from librarians. Many students still seem to believe the old stereotype of a old lady who shhh’s you. This isn’t the case. In both of these readings, librarians are actually concerned that students aren’t asking for help because a main component of their job is to facilitate research. So my fellow seniors when in your university’s library ask for help! It’ll make your life so much easier.

IMG_0525.JPG

Emily presented to a class this week about how to use the UA library to efficiently find resources and also how to find creditable photo resources online. While Emily and I had gone over this before it was a nice review. To make me practice Emily gives me the citations of the articles I need to read that week and then I have to find them in the library database. So far I’ve been using Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) research database or JSTOR the most. In addition, I was introduced to audiovisual & digital preservation this week through AV compass. It has several short informative videos on it’s website. You can find it here: http://www.avcompass.bavc.org/learn

Leave a Reply

