Day 39- King of the Botz

Day 39- King of the Botz

Quote of the Day: “Timmy’s a b****”- Yen

Music of the Day: I have discovered The Hives. Hate to Say I Told You So, Main Offender, and Tick Tick Boom are by far my favorite three songs from them right now.

I started off the day bright and early with more bugfixes. The first 2 again had to do with Timmy, although they were more what I’d call accidental oversights rather than true bugs. The first one was that he didn’t spawn again every million, and I knew exactly what was happening, so it was very easy to fix. Basically, there’s a boolean value called “isBossActive” that is checked every time you try to spawn a boss to make sure you don’t just spawn thousands of Timmys every time you get a million points, it’s set to true whenever you spawn him. However, I had forgotten to actually reset it to false when he died, so  he was just never able to spawn again. Easy to fix. The second bug was far less interesting, just an error thrown when Timmy was sucked into a black hole. The black hole would search for an extraneous component that I had removed from him and threw a NullReference, so I just took that line out. Easy peasy.

I then decided to add a couple more features, since my computer is having issues getting linked to Git. It means that I can make changes and easily get (heh) rid of them without worrying about accidentally putting them onto the main build if they don’t work/ we don’t like them. First up was a mouse visible toggle option, which one of our players had asked for. Unity has an inbuilt call for that, so it was just a matter of making a toggle button on the actual UI and linking it up to that call. Worked like a charm. It’s pretty bare-bones and needs some polishing (mainly so the mouse still shows up in the menus even if you have it toggled as invisible), but it’s a nice quality-of-life addition. I then messed around with the idea of adding an on-screen tracker for how long your powerup has left, but ultimately gave it up and filed it away for a later date. We might be making some changes to powerups soon, the code is a lot trickier than it would appear, and it required a pretty significant amount of UI changes that I didn’t want to make without being sure they would be saved.

Then I figured I’d try playtesting the current build, to see if there were any changes that needed to be made. And I had a great run. If you remember from waaaaaaaaaay back at the start of my project, I integrated our scores with Steam leaderboards, which we use now to track the bi-weekly score competition. And look at that:

woo
I’m Swell Foop

That won’t stay like that for long. The 3 guys below me play all the time, and Bukoden has broken 1.2 billion before (no joke. On an older, easier build). However, happy as I was that I topped the leaderboard, at least for a little while, that told me that the game was far too easy. It’s supposed to be difficult to get 1 million, let alone 7. Now, part of that stems from the fact that this is the build where Timmy doesn’t spawn every million, my fix isn’t on Steam yet. But it’s mostly due to the bugfix with powerup spawns. because they never stop spawning, with only very minimal luck you can basically stay alive forever. Had I not fallen asleep and died (and yes, that is literally how I died. I was up late last night), I easily could’ve at least quadrupled that score. With that in mind, there are 2 main options that we are going to consider to make the game the difficulty we want: limit powerup spawns or scale enemies. Personally, I’m leaning towards the second option. I think powerups are one of the most fun aspects of the game, and I don’t want to limit them. now, I’m betting you’ll remember that we tried to scale enemies in the past and ended up scrapping the idea, but that was back before we had all of the new features we currently have, so I think we’re going to try and revisit that idea.

We then messed around with GitLab for a while as a group, trying to get it to cooperate on 2 of our uncooperative computers, and looked into a bug as well. The day ended pretty slow, but I was still happy with what I got done.

If you’ve made it this far, congrats! Have a good Tuesday, see you tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Day 39- King of the Botz

Leave a Reply

