Week 10: Almost There

I have a little over two more weeks to go before I present my SRP. That hit me last Tuesday.  I’ve had a lot of fun with this project, and there is a possibility I will be able to continue it after the SRP portion of it is over. At this point, I know everyone (all seven others) in the company and I understand about 90% of what they’re talking about in the weekly meetings. I feel like I’ve gone from an awkward coexistence here to being an actual functioning part of Avirtek. Presenting at the meeting that one time helped, I think it illuminated what I’m doing to some of the other employees who had no idea what I was doing here. It also helped that I’ve had to work with Chintan, Shubha, and Fabian to model what aspects of the project they’re familiar with. Dr. Hariri helps me along and gives me the next step in my project, and Doug is friendly and easy to talk to. I was even able to build a rapport with the (Turkish?) guy that works here (I actually don’t know his name or what he does here, all I know is that he joked about stealing my sandwich from the fridge and afterwards I accidentally locked him out). I got to hear Doug’s unusual career story, learned that Fabian takes quick trips to random places around the world, Chintan’s going for his master’s soon and Shubha sadly won’t be here for more than another month. Both the technical work and the office atmosphere has been fascinating for me to see and be a part of.

Enough reminiscing, what have I been up to this week? Well I finished working through the discretization code and learned more about the algorithms it uses. This is also the point after which I’m hesitant to explain things due to security issues. There is a reason the data needed to be discretized and her code does something really cool at the end, but I don’t think I can actually go into it. The last phase of the process is what’s secure.

I’m also getting to the point where I’m at a loss for what to do, since I’m pretty close to completing my project. I finished the discretization on Tuesday, so I’m at the third and final phase. Dr. Hariri is out of town for the week, and if you haven’t gathered he’s the one that’s been overseeing my project and giving me incremental tasks and research papers. I finished the paper he gave me for this week, and Fabian sent me the code for the last phase of the project. It was designed for HTML, and I ran into an error trying to run it on XML. The code was literally written by Greg, the stats guy with a PhD, so to say modifying it for XML would be over my head is a gross understatement. Doug said he’s not surprised it didn’t work for XML since that code was intended for HTML, and that brings me back to having nothing to do on the Avirtek side until next week. On the BASIS side however, I need to rewrite my IEEE presentation into an SRP presentation, so that’s what I’ll be working on until Dr. Hariri gets back.

Til next time,

-Cameron

Leave a Reply

