Day 41- 404Sight

Day 41- 404Sight

Quote of the Day: “Let’s go to Mama Louisa’s” -Yen

Music of the Day: I listened to my “Workouts” playlist and was selectively removing/adding songs as the day went on. It’s almost entirely metal/hard rock, because high tempo songs are really really good for running and weights, at least in my case.

Today was overall pretty slow, but it wasn’t without it’s work. In fact, most of the day’s work consisted of me recreating all of the stuff I’ve done over the past 3-4 days, because Git is still having a temper tantrum no matter what client I try to use on the intern computer. Basically, I can pull new changes off the server, but it won’t let me push any changes I make, so anything I fix is still broken on everyone else’s computer. Combine with his the fact that the build currently on Git doesn’t have any of my fixes for Timmy crashing the game or powerups spawning, or any number of other smaller bugs, because it’s all saved locally and can’t be pushed onto the server and you get one very annoyed me having to basically redo all of that stuff on the one computer that is working with Git. This is where I was very thankful that I started doing this when we first started moving things to Git:chanelog

It may be a simple notepad file but it was invaluable with knowing exactly what I modified and needed to change, and where to find it. This is a skill I’m very glad that I learned, because at the start of my project I would basically entrust everything to my computer/anyone else in the office, and after a few incidents where my stuff wasn’t transferred/incorporated correctly and my code was blamed, I started keeping lists every week (besides this blog) of EXACTLY what I had done where, as both a form of proof that my stuff was, in fact, working, and also so that in the event that something like yesterday/today happened, I would be able to recreate it with significantly less stress. I feel like this project has really exposed me to some of the more real-world aspects of working in this field, and I’m thankful that I picked up on this skill now rather than in 3 years when I’m actually getting paid to do this stuff.

Then the whole office went to lunch at Mama Louisa’s, which was some of the best Italian food I’ve ever had. They had an all you can eat pasta bar with a bunch of different combinations, and oh boy was it good pasta. I didn’t take pictures, but I had a bowl of shells with house made red sauce and seasoned beef, and then a bowl of Linguine with the best garlic Alfredo sauce I have ever tasted and Italian sausage. Go there if you’re ever at Craycroft and Golf Links.

Back at the office were some complications with Git (again), and there were some very high emotions flying around from everyone and I actually ended up stepping out to the warehouse to talk with the GrokTek (other company that’s part of Proper Villains LLC.) guys for a while, and they actually managed to get Git working on my computer. Bunch of super cool dudes. Mind you, I was stepping out not because of my own frustration nor out of disrespect but because I didn’t want to get stuck in the argument outside. After giving it a bout 10-15 minutes, I came back in and things seemed to be more back to normal. Now I have a fancy Git client called GitKraken (it’s basically just a UI overhaul so that it looks nicer than normal Git, which looks like it’s from 1995 dial-up). This is what it looks like:gitkraken

On the left is all of the repositories I have access to (it’s kind of small I know, but that part is boring anyways). To the right is all of the changes on the selected commit (basically that specific update), which I can go through and inspect manually if I really want to. This is especially useful for Jeremy, because when we make a final build and have the master folder updated he can go through and check on all the changes to make sure nothing is broken or missing. The main event is the middle section, which visually shows all of the branch updates laid out in a sort of web fashion. Basically I can see who added what when, and a short description of what it does. It’s much nicer than Tower, which was the other option. Tower looks much more bland and boring.

I did eventually get back to coding, and made a small feature addition for the leaderboards. We learned a while ago that some users were able to keep an older version of the game open on a computer and play that, uploading a score when thy eventually die to the same leaderboard as the current build. Obviously, this opens up the possibility of cheating by savvy users, wherein they could score an inordinate amount of points on an older, easier build. I just added a check to see that the current leaderboard was the same as the one on the instance that they’re playing (leaderboard is reset every 2 weeks and gets a new ID). I also figured out that you can get the player’s steam name, so I added an extra little surprise that calls them out by name on their cheating ways if they fail the check.

If you’ve made it this far, congrats! I can’t believe final presentations are only a few short weeks away.

Leave a Reply

