Day 45- Teleporter’s Revenge

Day 45- Teleporter’s Revenge

Quote of the Day: “I have a friend who has a Vietnamese-Australian accent” -Yen

Music of the Day: Nothing in specific today, just went with the normal mish-mash.

Today was a bit confusing to explain, but I’ll try as best I can. Because I haven’t been in for a couple of days, there’s been a bunch of changes (both very large and small) that basically meant I spent the first couple hours familiarizing myself with what had changed. Then I started to hook up the UI elements to control mode, making sure that it can be navigated to from the main menu and such. Then I got to play with some new fancy assets, updating the textures on the control points to look much more like control points and less like the placeholder hot pink gumdrop-esque things we had been using. This is where the title of the post comes in: we downloaded some free assets from the Unity store that happened to be intended for use a s a teleporter. I quickly squashed whatever dreams of that they had by ripping out all of their code and using them just for their pretty visuals. Capture points now look like this when neutral:

neutral

and then change to this when captured:

cappedx

Looks very clean in my opinion. They also have a sort of “beaming up” effect to them as well, but we’ll get to that later. For the moment, the spawn pads looked a lot more like actual points and less like unicorn poop. We also decided to add the player’s respawn “shimmer” effect to the gummy bears when they spawned, to make it look like they just beamed in. It’s a nice effect.

What I really wanted to do was make those rings of lights able to track the capture progress of a point, lighting up around the circle as it was being captured and changing back as it was reverted to a neutral state. unfortunately, the included textures didn’t have that functionality (it’s just one big texture rather than a bunch of small ones. think a tablecloth versus a bunch of place mats), and I have neither the skill nor the time to make it that way. Thankfully, there was an included effect tat would suit my purposes just fine: that “beam up” effect I mentioned earlier. It’s really hard to get a good picture f it, and I can’t include video, so I’ll try and describe it as best I can. Basically, it’s a bunch of colored rings that start at the platform and move up into the sky and repeat over and over. I might not have been able to change the color of the platform itself, but I do have control over which color of ring play. So that’s what I did, it plays the effect color of the matching team while being captured as an indicator to the player. Lastly, I started to build a very barebones team select panel, but with next week being the last of my SRP I don’t know how far I’ll get with that.

If you’ve made it this far, congrats! Have a great weekend, and see you Monday.

 

 

Leave a Reply

