The Final Post

These past ten weeks at the University of Arizona have been quite a wonderful experience! So rarely does an opportunity arise to get work done in the field you wish to pursue at such a young age. I apologize for the lack of posts lately, I have been terribly busy with work as well as finishing up my last season for both school and club soccer. A little about what I have been doing in these past couple of weeks. So we are still experiencing difficulties with the purity of our samples and detecting what the problem is, and I am hoping we can find out soon so that we can continue making progress. As for new things I have learned to do, I was taught a new way to determine the purity of a substance, which we call TLC. I am not going to go into too much detail about it, other than that it is a pretty simple process.

As you can see, the spots on the plate in the picture to the right didn’t move, which is the opposite of what was supposed to happen (unfortunately). Luckily, this process is not time consuming, and I was able to run it while I was performing another purification process that helps identify impurities, which is known as HPLC. That is a much more tedious and time consuming process, but luckily I don’t have to sit and monitor it the whole time, so I can get more work done. This has made up my past couple weeks in the lab along with preparation and delivery of my presentation, which I think went really well!

As for the overall experience of the Senior Project, I would have to say that I really enjoyed following through with it. I got some valuable experience in a lab setting, a possibility of co-authoring a paper, which I really hope to achieve, and I was able to meet a whole bunch of new and amazing people. I don’t think I would have been able to find an internship of this caliber on my own, and I owe it all to my BASIS adviser, Mrs. Jewett. Thank you to all who read through this blog the past weeks, and I hope you enjoyed it! As for my work in the lab, I am continuing throughout the summer in hopes of gaining more experience and getting closer to a chance of publication.

Leave a Reply

