Week 8 Recap

As I was coming to the end of my project I had to begin working on my presentation. I needed to find a way to convey my research to an audience that didn’t necessarily know much about astronomy. In order to do that I had to go through my project step by step and see where it was important for my audience to understand a term or method. Luckily, I had done a pretty good job of defining lots of important terms throughout my blog posts but I realized that I never really mentioned what stellar type meant which is why I’m going to do that now.

Stellar type is used to classify stars based off of what elements that star absorbs and what its temperature is. The main one’s to know include O, B, A, F, G, K, M. It goes from O being the coolest to M being the hottest. Our sun is actually a G type star meaning it’s temperature falls between 5300-6000 Kelvin. Also our sun converts element hydrogen to helium in its core. It’s important to know what stellar type a star is to understand where its habitable zone will likely be.

Image result for habitable zone

AU – astronomical unit, distance from earth to sun, 92.96 million miles

Leave a Reply

